Saint Lucia Prepares to Host 40th Meeting of the Conference of Heads of CARICOM
25 June, 2019 by
Office of the Prime Minister, Nicole Mc Donald

The Fortieth Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will be held in Saint Lucia from 3rd to 5th July 2019, under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister the Honourable Allen M. Chastanet, who will assume the Chairmanship of the Conference for the period 1 July to 31 December 2019.

The Meeting comes at a time when Saint Lucia is marking 40 years of Independence with year-long celebrations. The Department of External Affairs has thus been spearheading preparations which will see Saint Lucia’s culture, heritage and hospitality being highlighted at the CARICOM Meeting which will bring together Heads of Government, other leaders and delegations from Member States as well as four high profile and distinguished special guests.


Heralding the meeting will be the annual CARICOM 10K road race from Rodney Bay to Castries on Sunday 30th June 2019. The event will showcase the Caribbean's top long- distance runners and includes a 5K run/walk from Marisule for secondary school students and a 1K for CARICOM diplomats and other dignitaries from Vide Boutielle. Members of the public are invited to show their support for the road races which start from 6:00 am on the day. Interested persons and groups can register at the Department of Youth and Sports to participate in the CARICOM 10K road race.

CARICOM Secretary-General, Ambassador Irwin LaRocque will co-host a forum with the Saint Lucian Youth Ambassadors McAllister Hunt and Ezbai Francis to discuss current issues of significance to upcoming leaders and young activists around the region. The forum will begin from 5:00 PM on 1st July 2019 and carried live via social networks and electronic media. Ambassador LaRocque will also engage the media during a special briefing on 2nd July.

The Nineteenth Meeting of the Council on Finance and Planning will be held on July 3rd ahead of the Official Opening Ceremony for the CARICOM Meeting, which starts at 4:00PM and will be broadcasted and streamed live.

Heads of Government will meet in Plenary and Caucus from 4 – 5 July to deliberate on matters related to the implementation of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) and Crime and Security in the Region.

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) has 15 Member States – Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Guyana, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago, and five Associate Members – Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

in News